2009-2010 Undergraduate Catalog - Belmont University

Music Scholarships

Music scholarships are awarded to new students (both freshmen and transfer students) on the basis of promising performance and academic ability. Scholarship audition dates are held in November, January and February of this academic year. The schedule of audition dates is available upon request from the School of Music Office.

Music scholarships are renewable through the four years of study provided the student maintains a 2.75 GPA in all courses and a minimum grade of "B" in principal applied study. This evaluation is made each semester with one semester of probation allowed before the scholarship is reviewed by the Scholarship Committee for termination. Music grants are available for certain instrumentalists based on ensemble participation.
Several special scholarships for students majoring in music have been provided by friends of the school, or designated from existing funds.

The Roy and Mildred Acuff Scholarship provides significant grants for outstanding music students.

The Barton Barrett Church Music Scholarship is awarded to one or more outstanding students in church music.

The Betty Skelton Brewer Church Music Scholarship recognizes outstanding musicians preparing for a church music vocation.

The Cynthia R. Curtis Scholarship is awarded to a student with outstanding academic and performance skills.

The Fowler-Gregg Orchestral Scholarship
is awarded each year to an outstanding member of the Belmont Orchestra.

The Friends of the School of Music Scholarship, provided by gifts from alumni and friends of the School of Music, is awarded to one or more deserving incoming freshmen.

The Kathy Elmer Ganus Scholarship is awarded to a music major who demonstrates high academic and performance ability.

The Ronn and Donna Huff Endowed Music Scholarship is awarded to an outstanding student in composition and arranging.

The Bill Justis Scholarship is awarded to outstanding students in composition and arranging.

The Florence Esther Mathis Scholarship is provided a Baptist music major with financial need.

The Music Education Honor Scholarship is awarded to a senior or junior student in the Music Education curriculum and recognizes outstanding potential in music teaching.

The Outstanding Freshman and Sophomore awards are given each spring in recognition of superior work during the year. A scholarship award is provided for the next school year.

The Theodore Presser Scholarship provided by the Theodore Presser Foundation, recognizes the outstanding junior music student who is recognized as The Presser Scholar for the senior year.

The Mary C. Ragland Scholarship is awarded to a student majoring in classical voice.

The Janie H. Satterwhite Piano Scholarship provided by the Alumnae of the Tennessee College for Women, is presented to an outstanding piano major.

The Richard C. Shadinger Scholarship is awarded to student with strengths as an organist, pianist or church musician.

The J. Randolph Smith and Betty G. Smith Endowed Scholarship is awarded to a student with especially strong performance ability.

The Elizabeth Wall Piano Scholarship is awarded to a deserving pianist.

The Johnnie Wiley Music Scholarship is awarded to older students who are in church-related music studies with financial needs.